Grown-Up Christmas Eve

Divorced Families, with multiple children, do not have the same luxury of “tradition” that other families have.  This can (and often does) lead to depression and sadness, however, Otto and I have found that the most important thing is to make every year and every memory special – not try to “repeat” something just for the sake of saying you did it year after year.  This year, it was just the two of us and Went.  Early this morning, Cookie and I drove GO to her daddy’s house, and Otto took the older girls home to their mom’s house.

We had a fun lunch (Cookie and I brought home Krystal’s) and got dressed to go to the first Christmas Eve service at church.  It wasn’t easy (a 2 year old sitting still for over an hour in church never is), but very meaningful.  Excellent sermon and the music was beautiful.  Plus, the look on Went’s face when we lit the candles at the end was totally worth it. I wish I had pictures!

Otto and Went, ready for Christmas Eve Service

Otto and Went, ready for Christmas Eve Service

Otto and I headed home and talked, and decided to have a “grown-up” Christmas Eve.  Went had not taken a nap, so we made a quick run to the store for dinner supplies.  As a treat, we found a “Kid’s Cuisine” for Went – pizza and pudding and corn!  (That did NOT go over like we expected!)  Otto and I chose steak and corn on the cob, with garlic bread and sparkling grape juice.

Pizza WITH Pudding? (He ate not a single bite of anything...)

Pizza WITH Pudding?
(He ate not a single bite of anything…)

GrownupChristmasEve2014 (1)

We fed Went, while the steaks were cooking, and gave him a quick bath – before putting him in his penguin jammies.  He was out within 5 minutes of being put down, and Otto and I headed downstairs to celebrate.  One of our favorite shows was having a Christmas special – so a fire in the fireplace, picnic on the rug, presents by the hearth, and Ink Masters on the TV!  As funny as it sounds, it was perfect for us.

Steak Dinner

Steak Dinner

Gifts and the Fireplace

Gifts and the Fireplace

Ink Masters: Merry Ink

Ink Masters: Merry Ink

After dinner, we opened our gifts from each other and from Auntie M.  Auntie M is the Queen of practical gifts you love – Otto received a new pair of tennis shoes and I was gifted with an incredible bag that I needed for Trail Life Scouting (I had posted a picture online a few weeks ago)!

The Puppies helped me celebrate, too.  (After the steak dinner picnic was over...)

The Puppies helped me celebrate, too. (After the steak dinner picnic was over…)

My Auntie M gift!

My Auntie M gift!

My Trail Life Bag!

My Trail Life Bag!

Otto opening his gifts

Otto opening his gifts

Photobombed by Reuben

Photobombed by Reuben

Otto gave me a fun gift (Guardians of the Galaxy), a practical gift (a new hair dryer) and then we had one of those perfect moments in a marriage, where you realize that you are on the same page and striving for the same goals.  Otto opened his gift from me – a small 3 ring binder with 24 envelopes inside.  Each envelope held a pre-arranged date night (one “at home” and one “out of the home” per month).  Then he handed me my final gift – a larger 3 ring binder that he had made with tools to help us intentional have Date Nights in 2015 (and record them).  Two things that go perfectly together – and yet we had no idea what the other had planned.  It was incredibly awesome.

We headed to be rather early (well, early for us, and apparently MUCH earlier than many of my friends who had to wait up for “Santa” to arrive).  Merry Christmas Eve, everyone!

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by CC on 25 12 14 at 3:32 pm

    Love the gift ideas. So exciting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

