Book Review: Discipleship

Discipleship

Discipleship

Discipleship: Living for Christ in the Daily Grind…I agreed to review this book, thinking it would be similar to many of the other books I read while I was at Seminary.  Not exactly a textbook, but not something I would necessarily gain life-changing information from.

Interestingly enough, it actually did seem more like a textbook to me, the individual chapters would be excellent stand-alone “lessons” for personal reflection that could very easily go deeper than the author went in his book.  His approach was one of painful honesty.  His life (Mr. Arnold passed away in 1982), was a character study in what it means to attempt to live like the early church, but in today’s society.

This is not a novel, and is not something one would sit down and read cover to cover.  But the truths that are written will speak to any individual willing to invest the time in studying the book.  I was touched personally by his chapter “The Lower Nature”.  About how we must be cautious to not only prevent ourselves from allowing “worldly” things to take God’s place (like sports, money, or business), but not to allow even God’s great gifts (like the beauty of nature or the joys of human love) to replace the real experience of Christ.  I know this has been a personal struggle for me, especially as my family has searched for a church, and I was struck by his ability to speak directly to the heart of the matter.

This is a book I am glad I own, and will be referring back to time and time again.

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from the publisher (Plough Publishing) for review purposes. I was not compensated or required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own.

Leave a Reply

