Book Review: Home for Christmas ~Stories for Young and Old~

Home for Christmas ~Stories for Young and Old~

Home for Christmas
~Stories for Young and Old~

Christmas time seems to be the season for compilations in literature, and this year was no exception.  I was asked to review Home for Christmas ~Stories for Young and Old~, a selection of twenty short stories.  At first glance, I knew some of the authors well (Pearl Buck) and others I had never heard of before (Opal Menius).  The book included gorgeous woodcut illustrations by David Klein.

This was such a beautiful collection.  My family is full of theatre people, and every single story was a perfect “read-aloud” moment.  The writings were all superb, and the spiritual qualities were highlighted – emphasizing the Christ in the season, and the giving and love that should be everywhere.

Our family’s favorite story was a true recounting of events in Spain, one of the final stories in the book: “What the Kings Brought” by Ruth Sawyer.  I cried, not just for the boy in the story, but for the joy of the long-standing traditions where good men and women give at Christmas-time and quietly bring light to otherwise darken homes.

We enjoyed the book so thoroughly, that I purchased a second copy to give as a gift, and my husband and I have been discussing the purchase of a few more for next year.  This would make a great “family” gift, and is perfect for all ages.

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from the publisher (Plough Publishing) for review purposes. I was not compensated or required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own.

Leave a Reply

