WDW Trip Prep – The Vehicle

TODAY our “special surprise” happens!  I am taking the younger Caterpillars to Walt Disney World!  The older two, B10 and CW, know we are going, but don’t know the other “big” surprise.  GO and Went don’t even know we are going!  I’m detailing some of my preparations in blog posts, for others who might be planning a big/special trip.

My last “prep” post is about our vehicle.

I know it’s “boring” and not near as cool as all the Walt Disney stuff – but this is probably the most important part.  I’m the sole driver on a seven hour one-way trip.  Most of what we took care of was routine maintenance, but that doesn’t mean it wasn’t necessary.

Friday, Otto took the day off of work (technically – he worked Labor Day, so this was his holiday) and we spend the morning getting the oil and filters changed in the van, making sure all the tires are properly inflated, washing the van, and vacuuming it out.  All told, it only took an hour and less than $200 – but the peace of mind is worth it.

Even the trunk is clean!  (See my emergency area?  I always carry jumper cables, first aid kit, extra shirts for all kids, water/juice/sippy cups, extra diapers)

Even the trunk is clean! (See my emergency area? I always carry jumper cables, first aid kit, extra shirts for all kids, water/juice/sippy cups, extra diapers)

DSC_0003

Clean Car (very important to ME)

Clean Car (very important to ME)

Saturday, we loaded the van with all the suitcases and filled it up with gas.  I wanted to be able to leave with no “last minute” things to do today.  Yes, this takes a bit more time and planning, but what an incredible feeling to just ENJOY the first day of vacation, instead of stressing “did I forget something?”  “Where am I going to get gas really quick?” Or the dreaded “My oil light just came on!”

We also made the decision to replace two of my car tires.  We had hoped to put this off for another couple of months – but figured out a way to get it in the budget, to be on the safe side.

New Tires (very important)

New Tires (very important)

Late Saturday night – I put out the Caterpillars final touches in their seats.  This will be what they see when they get in the van today!  I cannot wait to get on the road!

GO's Seat

GO’s Seat

CW's Seat

CW’s Seat

B10's seat!

B10’s seat!

All Loaded and Ready to Head to DISNEY!

All Loaded and Ready to Head to DISNEY!

Have fun this week!  I know we will!

Gotta have our Magic Bands!!!

Gotta have our Magic Bands!!!

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

Leave a Reply

