WDW Trip Prep – Packing

Next week our “special surprise” happens!  I am taking the younger Caterpillars to Walt Disney World!  The older two, B10 and CW, know we are going, but don’t know the other “big” surprise.  GO and Went don’t even know we are going!  I’m detailing some of my preparations in blog posts, for others who might be planning a big/special trip.

Today I’m talking about my packing plans.

I think packing is where my OCD comes out more than almost any other place.  I am meticulously organized.  We will be taking five suitcases/bags.  Each is filled with plastic bags.

First – the plastic bags.  I use gallon size bags from Dollar Tree (16 per box) and label them before I do ANYTHING else.  Each person has one bag per day (labeled: Monday, Epcot, B10), three bags for pajamas, and one bag with an extra outfit.  By labeling EVERYTHING before hand, I have a stack of bags – and when my stack is gone, all clothes have been packed.  Inside the bag goes a complete outfit: underwear (or diaper), socks, shorts, shirt, and for GO a matching hairbow.

Bag #2: Maroon Bag Bag #1: Pink Bag Bag #3: Blue Bag w/green Sanitizer

Bag #2: Maroon Bag
Bag #1: Pink Bag
Bag #3: Blue Bag w/green Sanitizer

Bag #1 is our hotel bag for the first night.  Inside is a set of pajamas for each person (plus a pullup/diapers for the littles), plus the clothes they will wear on Monday.  I’ve packed their first night surprise in this bag.  There is also a bag with swimsuits, though I’m not sure we will use them.  By doing this, I only have to grab (or have a boy grab) ONE bag out of the van when we arrive at the hotel late Sunday night.  I’ll throw a few extra diapers in the side pocket, along with a wipes packet, for Went.

Bag #2 is our hotel bag for the last night.  Inside is a set of pajamas for each person (plus a pullup/diapers for the littles), plus the clothes they will wear on Saturday.  I’ve also packed their final night surprise in this bag.  This will also hold a few extra diapers, and be packed in the bottom of the trunk of the van.

Bag #3 is our “diaper” bag for the parks.  It holds an extra outfit for GO and Went, extra diapers, a pack of wipes, pipe cleaners (for entertaining Caterpillars when waiting for meals), snacks, bubbles & glow sticks (for entertaining Caterpillars when waiting for parades or in lines), hand sanitizer, ponchos, plus a small wallet for my ID and Credit Card (which I have to carry in the parks to get my Disney Visa Perks).  Daily Touring Plans will also slide into this each day.  I will replenish this each night.

Food Bag (Bugs Bag) Black Bag is the Treat Bag (Bag #4)

Food Bag (Bugs Bag)
Black Bag is the Treat Bag (Bag #4)

Bag #4 is my bag of surprises!  Each night the Caterpillars will come back to the Hotel Room to find a wrapped surprise.  Most of these items were purchased when the Disney Store closed near us, but I’ve been hunting for months to find inexpensive items.  The cool thing is that my kids KNOW this is going to happen, so they don’t ask for stuff in the parks.  I always pack enough for every night (not just when we are at the Parks), so the hotels on each end will have a surprise also.

Bag #5 The Main Clothing Bag

Bag #5
The Main Clothing Bag

Bag #5 is our clothing bag.  By using the plastic bag method, I am able to fit EVERYONE’S stuff in one rolling suitcase.  (YAY!)  Also, I can just throw dirty clothes in this suitcase as we go, and they won’t mess up the clean clothes.

There is also a large bag of snacks/food that will be in the car, plus reusable grocery bags (one per Caterpillar) that they will use in the car to hold their goodies (that is where they will find their notebooks).

I love being organized!  It also helps the Caterpillars a TON, because they aren’t asking so many questions – they know the routine and know what to look for.

Do you have any packing tips?

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

4 responses to this post.

  1. I always pack laundry detergent (individual sample packs) just in case. We’ve actually had to wash clothes at Disney before due to sick kid. Have a blast!

    Reply

    • I have been on the lookout for Purex Sample Packs – unfortunately, it’s the only brand our family can use due to allergies – and they aren’t easy to find! That is a great tip, though!

      Reply

  2. Posted by Cc on 03 09 14 at 4:04 pm

    Using plastic bags was the best. My mom got them each a suitcase which they used this last time and it became a mess. I like bringing a laundry bag for dirty clothes. We do laundry the last night so we come home to all clean clothes.

    Reply

    • I’ve often wondered if each one of my (many) Caterpillars having their own bag would be a hassle or a help. Deep down, I just see piles and piles of bags that I had no control over packing! 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

