Happy Birthday, B10!

I can hardly believe my oldest baby Caterpillar turned 14 today.  I’m the luckiest mum alive to have this kid as my own.

DSC_1170

Cake and Presents :)

Cake and Presents 🙂

Singing.  :)

Singing. 🙂

Happy Birthday!

Happy Birthday!

B10 said he thought that 14 Year Olds should ALSO get a "smash cake".

B10 said he thought that 14 Year Olds should ALSO get a “smash cake”.

We celebrated with Granddaddy and Minnie Mouse, before his birthday (he was at his Daddy’s ON his birthday) and we will celebrate at home in early January.  They made sure he had a delicious cake and ice cream.

"I think there is a smidge left in the bottom, my tongue can reach it!"

“I think there is a smidge left in the bottom, my tongue can reach it!”

"Got - To - Get - It - ALL!"

“Got – To – Get – It – ALL!”

"Oh, NOM NOM NOM!"

“Oh, NOM NOM NOM!”

"This is good, Brother."

“This is good, Brother.”

I think it was a hit!  😀

Granddaddy helping Went "sing".

Granddaddy helping Went “sing”.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY – I’m so proud of you, B10.  You have a life plan ahead of you, and you work hard every day to make your dreams happen.  You’ve got values and firm foundations of right and wrong.  I am blessed!

I don’t usually share personally stories about my older Caterpillars, to give them privacy – but I wanted to share an incident that happened recently.  B10 gets a lot of flack, because he is his own person.  His mind is his own and while that means he is very much NOT a follower, it also means he can be quite bullheaded and stubborn.  He had his first “date” recently, with a girl who was a good friend, then one of his best friends, and now he asked if he could take her out on a date.  I chaperoned and was so proud of his gentlemanly behavior – not just opening the car doors and such for her, but doing the same for me.  During this date, I saw at least twice a grownup giving my son and his date a sideways look, and I’m sure it’s because this sweet girl (a family friend and fellow homeschooled student) is black and as you all know, B10 is about as white as they come.

Both times, I saw my son draw up and stand tall, ready to defend himself and his date – but not being confrontational.  I could not be more proud.  That’s the kind of man I want my son to become, and to see his behavior when he didn’t know anyone else was watching made my heart sing.

B10 – you are amazing.

BABY PHOTO BOMB!

BABY PHOTO BOMB!

All my love,

Mummy Butterfly  )i(

Leave a Reply

