Birthdays, Budgets and Things I’m Thankful For

It’s the beginning of the month, and by golly – we are going to have a handle on this stuff!

I woke up early (okay, early for ME) and headed out with the two littlest Caterpillars to celebrate one of my close friend’s 30th birthdays.  We had a party on Saturday night for our sweet friend – with an 80’s theme.  Otto and I rocked it (perhaps because we LIVED the 80’s…all of them…).

Otto and I rockin the 80's!

Otto and I rockin the 80’s!

Can you even SEE the purple eyeshadow?

Can you even SEE the purple eyeshadow?

This morning was more subdued (less purple eyeshadow), Sweet Friend and I met at Starbucks for coffee and cake pops.  Went *loves* Sweet Friend, and I think the fact that he ate his first cake pop in her arms just sealed the deal.  😉

Sweet Friend and the DELICIOUS Yellow Cake Pop!

Sweet Friend and the DELICIOUS Yellow Cake Pop!

Then we headed home, so I could go over budget things, put money in envelopes and finish the Christmas Shopping for the SheepKids.  Our Christmas Tree is UP, my Thanksgiving Menu is SET, and I have eleven birthdays between now and Valentine’s Day (that’s just family).  I will be eternally grateful to BooSheep for being on top of things, so I never have to worry about what I’m going to get for her kids.  I’m also thankful that Otto and I have managed to go almost two full years on a cash envelope/Dave Ramsey budget.  Is it perfect?  Not by a long shot – and we’ve had months that we’ve gotten ourselves all mixed up.  BUT, it works.  Proof is the fact that I have an envelope of cash for presents this year, and no worries about how I’m going to pay for anyone’s gifts.  🙂

Otto’s birthday was last week, which is wonderful – and I need to get together my stuff so I can celebrate Queen’s birthday (it has passed, but we haven’t had a chance to BE together since then).

I love this season, even when I don’t like it (I’m NOT a cold weather person AT ALL).  Today, I put on my boots and my scarf and turtleneck and enjoyed the sunshine.  Can’t wait to do it again tomorrow!

Happy Thanksgiving, Merry Christmas and Happy Chanukah!  Most of all – HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

Leave a Reply

