Went’s First Birthday Party

Happy Birthday, Went!

Happy Birthday, Went!

Woo Hoo!  Went’s party was this weekend and we had family and close friends in attendance to celebrate his milestone.

I had wanted a Sock Monkey/Baseball theme, but that wasn’t to be had around here.  So general Monkey it was, with Sock Monkey accents (especially in some of his gifts!).

For food, I went with a very basic spread (the party was 3-5pm): Bananas (of course), Chips and Salsa, PB&J sandwiches, Cows in a Blanket, Lemonade, Water and Funfetti Cupcakes.  I had a wonderful friend who came over and helped me bake and decorate the four dozen cupcakes (and one smash cake) and the 120 Cows in a Blanket on Friday.  My favorite part was when she taught GO how to crack eggs.

What else do you use as a paperweight at a Monkey Party?

What else do you use as a paperweight at a Monkey Party?

Cows in a Blanket

Cows in a Blanket

PB&J

PB&J

Chips :)

Chips 🙂

NANNERS!

NANNERS!

The Food Spread

The Food Spread

Baseballs!

Baseballs!

Cupcake Table

Cupcake Table

We had the party outside (beautiful weather – 78 degrees and sunny in OCTOBER).  I had three friends let me borrow their canopies (one for food, one for cupcakes, one for gifts/goodie bags).  Plus Quilting Bee had a little kids bouncy castle that she brought – WHAT A HIT!

The sign :)

The sign 🙂

The Kids Bouncy House

The Kids Bouncy House

On the other side of the yard, we had lots of lawn chairs set up, and a big bucket of toys (footballs seemed to be the main hit with the bigger kids).

Big Boys playing Football

Big Boys playing Football

Mimi, Doc, and Aunt R

Mimi, Doc, and Aunt R

My Picnic Table redo was perfect for Went to sit at with his friend – even though it’s already scratched.

Just Chillin with his Friend, Superman

Just Chillin with his Friend, Superman

This kinda makes me cry - he's growing up.  :(

This kinda makes me cry – he’s growing up. 😦

He also got Peanut Butter for the first time – HE LOVED IT!  He ate a banana and a half and half a PB&J sandwich!

Love this expression, his face is covered in peanut butter

Love this expression, his face is covered in peanut butter

TEETH!

TEETH!

Loving Lunch at the Little Table

Loving Lunch at the Little Table

I think my favorite part of the party-planning was Went’s shirt!  I had it custom made and it’s a very high quality t-shirt.  So thick and soft!  I LOVE IT!  Hailey Ruth Boutique for the win!  Otto and I plan on framing this and hanging it in his room (Sock Monkey and Baseball themed!).

The One Year Old Monkey

The One Year Old Monkey

His awesome shirt!

His awesome shirt!

Mimi, Papa, Aunt M and Monkey-Boy

Mimi, Papa, Aunt M and Monkey-Boy

The Caterpillars and Kids played for the first hour, then we sat all the kids down and gave them cupcakes – THEN sang Happy Birthday to Went and let him smash his cake.  That way, the younger ones were not waiting for the one-year old to “do his thing”.

Smash Cake!

Smash Cake!

"I'm suppose to do WHAT with this?"

“I’m suppose to do WHAT with this?”

TwinE

TwinE

Eating Cupcakes

Eating Cupcakes

GO and her friend, T

GO and her friend, T

It was so cute – he wanted to share his smash cake with everyone!

My favorite picture of the day...

My favorite picture of the day…

"Here, OPM, you taste the YUMMY Icing!"

“Here, OPM, you taste the YUMMY Icing!”

Icing is DELISH!

Icing is DELISH!

"Here, Papa, you have some!"

“Here, Papa, you have some!”

We did the same thing with gifts – GO helped hand out goodie bags, so the other kids could be opening their goodie bags and checking out the contents while Went was “opening presents” (or – yanking paper out of bags!).

Gift Table - He is loved!

Gift Table – He is loved!

SNOOPY!

SNOOPY!

Paper!  ;)

Paper! 😉

I was very happy with our goodie bags this year – three snacks, a useful pencil and fangs.  The fangs were a hit!

Goodie Bags!

Goodie Bags!

Check out the Fang Crew!  :D

Check out the Fang Crew! 😀

Cleanup was a breeze, because of all the help.  My beautiful new sister-in-law stayed late (with my baby brother) and did all the dishes for me, while Otto and I gave Went and GO bathes and put them in jammies.  A very wonderful day, surrounded by friends and family.

Happy First Birthday, Went!

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

 

Leave a Reply

