2013

It’s January 1st and the internet has been flooded with New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day posts.  One of my friends has posted on Facebook that they were “worried” about how unlucky 2013 would be, especially if they have to write the number “13” so often.  I think it was likely in some sort of jest, as the person in question isn’t quite that superstitious.  🙂

However, it got my wheels turning and I would like to present 2013 as the “Year of the Baker’s Dozen”.  Think of this year as the year that you’ll get a “little extra”.  This can be the year that you open your arms up to the wonderful things that God has in store for you – more than you can even imagine.

Does this mean 2013 will be perfect?  No, you’ll encounter pain and frustration.  You might even have something horrible happen, but one year from today I can promise that God will still be God.  And God will still love you.  No matter your choices.  He will be right here, unchanging, waiting to pour out riches upon you.

2013 is the year of lagniappe.  The “little something extra”.  Perhaps God is asking YOU to provide that for someone.

That is my only two real resolutions this year:

1) Open my eyes to recognize the gifts that God has given me.

2) Provide a tangible “little extra something” to one person, once a month.  12 times this year, even if it’s uncomfortable, I promise to listen to God’s prompting and reach out to serve or bless someone.

2013 – my luckiest and best year, yet.

But my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus.  Philippians 4:19

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by chrysti on 01 01 13 at 11:32 pm

    I am so excited about 2013 and thanks for reminding me that I get to write 13 often as it is my favorite number and I totally think God speaks to me often with the number. This will absolutely be the year of many blessings and I know I won’t have to wait for March for the blessing to start. I love your idea of it being the year of something extra!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

