Planning for Thanksgiving

Happy Turkey Day to YOU! (early)

We are hosting Thanksgiving at our home on Friday (so all the Caterpillars will be there – plus at least three parents, and Otto’s sister, and possibly another family of four).  Because we are having our traditional Thanksgiving Camping Trip during the first part of the week – I realized I needed to go ahead and PLAN the menu, so I can start stockpiling the ingredients.  And have time to figure out what to cook in what order!

Last night, I spent a good bit of time going through what we NEEDED to have (Turkey, Green Bean Casserole) and what I NEEDED to add (Ham, Glazed Carrots), especially since we are blending two family traditions, and I have enough “food issues” to want to make everyone happy on holidays.  Here is what I came up with:

Thanksgiving “Day” Menu

Breakfast
Cheesy Hashbrown Casserole
Fresh Fruit Salad

Lunch
Roasted Turkey
Pineapple Glazed Ham
Green Bean Casserole
Yeast Rolls
Homemade Cranberry Sauce
Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Glazed Carrots
Crockpot Stuffing
Chocolate Trifle
Apple Spice Cake
Vanilla Ice Cream

Dinner
Sausage Jambalaya
Garlic Bread

I actually love the cooking part, and the decorating part – and even some of the cleaning part.  I don’t mind a full house of people (or, in this case, a VERY full apartment full of people).  And I love how the TV can be on football games, and I can still see it from the kitchen!  I’m old enough to not feel stressed about having “in-laws” over and comfortable enough in what I’m making to enjoy the process.  All in all, I’m VERY excited about this year!

I am praying it’s cool enough to have a fire!  (But I doubt it!)

What are you fixing for Thanksgiving?

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

One response to this post.

  1. Now, Sis, you should know I can’t eat Thanksgiving food … and when have I ever planned this far in advance for anything besides college? 😉

    Seriously, I have no idea what I’m cooking, but probably something involving cheese, sweet potatoes, and salt – not necessarily in the same dish, or in that order. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

