Alcatraz – AKA: JJ Abrams Has Me Again…

I, personally, think someone should wise-up and give JJ Abrams (Lost, Alias, FRINGE, Star Trek, SUPER 8, Felicity, Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol) his own TV station.  Anything he puts on air is amazing (even Undercover, though it needed more time to flesh out the characters, but I loved the leads!).  Shame on FOX for not making sure everyone KNEW that this was a JJ Abrams/Bad Robot project.

The show which I speak of is Alcatraz.  I had seen some snazzy commercials, but had no idea the real plot.  My Dad called me after the first two episodes (three really – the premiere was a 2 hour episode that was actually 2 shows).  He gave me a brief synopsis and let me know how WONDERFUL this show was.  So I took the bait and watched.  All 3 hours.  In one night.  A-MA-ZING!

Basically, Alcatraz wasn’t shut down in the 60’s – everyone on the island disappeared.  And now they are reappearing – one by one, inmates and guards alike.  We’ve been thrown a couple of doozies already, and the mystery is complex.  However, it holds a great appeal to me, because it’s not the same type of show as Lost and Alias – where you have to be in at the beginning or you are going to be so confused in the mythology of the show.

You still have time to catch up – FOX has all 4 (5) full episodes on their website.  The cast is almost unilaterally outstanding.  For you Lost-lovers, Hurley is back with not one, but two, PhDs.

Jurassic Park more your cup of tea?  Sam Neill has you covered as, well, we’ll call him the “guy in charge” as to not spoil anything!

Or perhaps you miss ER or enjoyed the movie Ella Enchanted?  The beautiful Parminder Nagra stars as…again, can we just call her a really smart person?  Trust me, you’ll know by episode 3!

The final major cast member is Sarah Jones.  I’m not going to lie, she’s a bit on the *argh* side, but I’m hoping that she grows on me quickly.  Goodness knows I didn’t like Olivia in FRINGE for the first half a season, now I adore her!  So in that vein (and with full disclosure), I think she’s going to do just fine.  🙂

The benefits include the fact that it doesn’t feel like a “science fiction” show, it feels more like a traditional hour drama.  I give it 9 out of 10 – hard to do for me, who likes TV but can’t stand getting sucked into shows that then disappear.  On a JJ Abrams scale (for my family and friends who know me well) – it’s above LOST and Undercover, but below Alias, perhaps on par with FRINGE?

Hurry!  Go enjoy!

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

Disclaimer: This show is NOT for children.  B10 is 12 and he’s not going to see a single episode if I can help it until he is much older.  The depiction of a 1962 Federal prison is graphic (and realistic).  The criminals in Alcatraz weren’t your everyday white collar criminals.  Thus far, we’ve seen a bank robber, a child killer and a sharpshooter who kills teenagers.  But, the “good guys” aren’t always good and the “bad guys” aren’t always bad.  That being said, this is a phenomenal adult show.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I could never get past Olivia on Fringe (even though I’ve always loved Pacey Witter, er – Joshua Jackson) – she just rubbed me wrong. But, as a huge Abrams fan, I’ll give this one a go. I tried an episode last week, but I had missed the first few, and I wasn’t paying a lot of attention, so I didn’t really get what was happening. I’ll have to go back and catch up and see if it’s something I want to invest in. You know me, I gave six years of my life to Lost, sticking around even after many jumped ship. If it’s a good show, I’ll be loyal.

    Reply

    • I did get past Olivia, and actually like her now (not love, but like). I think Sarah Jones is just so YOUNG that as she matures she’ll fill into the role. That’s my hope at least. 🙂 YAY for giving it a try! Then we can have another show to want to drink coffee and discuss!

      Reply

  2. Posted by Malenki on 03 02 12 at 11:59 am

    I’m impressed! However, the last thing I really SHOULD do with my time is start watching yet another addicting TV show … 😉 I do love a good sci-fi, though … 😀 Maybe I’ll play catchup later when I have *ahem* spare time … Ha, ha, ha …

    Reply

  3. […] Alcatraz – See this post. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

