These Economic Times

I rarely push forth political agenda on my blog, though most people around me know solidly where I stand (what’s funny is the few people who have it exactly backwards…).  And I’m not sure WHO we blame for the economy being the way it is – frankly ONE person doesn’t get us anywhere (good or bad).

But today I sent out my 350th job application – did you even know there were 350 different places to apply in this city?  THREE HUNDRED AND FIFTY!

I’ve had three interviews.  THREE!  That’s like THREE HUNDRED AND FIFTY – but without all the extra words at the end.

That’s .0085%…

Seriously, I don’t know what is going on.  I’ve applied to jobs I’m highly qualified for, and jobs that I’m willing to do to pay the bills (yes, family and friends – Wal-Mart, McDonald’s AND Burger King have rejected me).  I’ve applied to clean hotel rooms and work overnight stocking shelves.  I’ve listened and believed (and still cling to the hope) that God has a plan and it’s all going to work out, but I’m growing weary of the constant application filing.

I can recite my resume in my sleep.

And the thing is, I’m not the only one.  There are people all over America who are TRYING to get jobs, but can’t find them.  (We won’t discuss the people NOT trying, that’s a whole ‘nother blog post.)

So, I will continue to be the best Room Mum I can be for GO, I will continue to volunteer my time and efforts at my church, and I will continue to give where I’m able.

But, seriously, something has to give soon.  Because this is getting ridiculous.

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

2 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve hired you once, and I’d hire you again in a heartbeat if I could. Unfortunately, I don’t pay very much these days. I’m praying that you will find the perfect, most fulfilling job, that will also pay the bills. Because you deserve that.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Malenki on 02 02 12 at 8:32 pm

    Darling big sister, I completely agree that this is ridiculous. HOWEVER, I know that God is good, and that whatever His plan is, however crazy it seems, is best. I am clinging to that truth with you. I love you so much!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

