Homemade Crayons

For GO’s party favors, we had all sorts of assorted Princess Olivia things (wands, cupcakes, rings, tiaras) – but I also made homemade crayons to share.

This was about as easy as it could possibly have been.  I was SHOCKED by how simple these were to make – and my only regret is not having more of the molds, so I could make them quicker.

I started with very cheap crayons and sorted them by colour – I kept all the shades together to have an assortment.

The Purple Pile

Then we stripped the wrappers off and broke the crayons into 3 or 4 hunks.

Sorting out the "chunks"

We dropped them into the mold 3-4 hunks per heart (I mixed the shades up, but kept the colours separate).  There was a little glitter in the trays – and next time I think I’ll sprinkle more – it makes for a pretty shimmery crayon!

From there, it was about 10 minutes in a 250 degree oven (keep a close eye until you figure out what YOUR oven does).

Crayons in the Oven

Then let them cool for a moment (about 5 minutes, not to long or they are easier to break when they come out of the mold).

And lay them on wax paper to finish cooling.

Volia!  Heart crayons!

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Malenki on 30 01 12 at 6:49 pm

    Okay, that is cool! 🙂 Love the artsiness lately, Sis! 😉

    Reply

  2. Posted by CC on 02 02 12 at 9:38 pm

    These are great. I made some tree shaped ones for different seasons. They turned out great. I need to make some more. The only problem I had was getting the paper off of some of them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

