Saying Goodbye

This morning, I had to take my first baby to the vet and have her put to sleep.

Bathsheba's Last Photo

She was sleeping in GO's old crib when I picked her up this morning.

For all the writing I love to do, I wish I could come up with a beautiful tribute to her.  Bathsheba was 13 years old, and is the only pet that has ever really been MINE.

She was sick.  Very sick.  But she laid her fuzzy face on my hand and purred until she fell asleep.  I can honestly say it was the most painless thing I’ve ever witnessed and I thank GOD that I was able to be there with her.

Bathsheba

The Vet’s office was amazing.  One of the vet techs stood in the lobby with B10 and GO and played games for 25 minutes while Cookie and I sat with Bathsheba before the exam and while they were prepping her.  Then, afterwards, when Cookie went to put them in the car, a vet tech sat beside me and just stroked my hair while I cried.

The Amazing Vet

They treated Bathsheba with the utmost respect, and prepared her body, even carrying her to the car for me.  We buried her out behind the house.

Outside, under a tree. She would have liked the squirrels playing around her.

I had to use my hands to get some of the dirt out, and then to cover her box back up.

It felt pretty silly to not want to wash my hands afterwards.

I loved her.  I loved her so very much.  Tomorrow will be easier.

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Manda on 16 09 11 at 9:37 pm

    I remember Bathsheba. And I too used that hospital when I lived there with Jazz she LOVES it there. And the people are SO great. I’m sorry to hear about your loss but just know you gave her a wonderful life. *hugs*

    Reply

  2. Prayers for you and yours tonight. I love you and miss you.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Laurie on 16 09 11 at 10:49 pm

    😦 I’m so sorry. How sad!

    Reply

  4. I’m SO sorry to hear about Sheeby… I know how much you loved her. I’ll be thinking of you.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Malenki on 17 09 11 at 11:01 am

    Darling big sister … I love you so much. I don’t think I can imagine all the thoughts that went through your mind yesterday, but I knew from your message you were struggling. I love you so much … always, your littlest sister

    Reply

Leave a Reply

