March Musical Monday – Week 3

Today’s Musical Monday is a two-for-one deal on my favorite Hymns.  It’s funny, because our family attends a church that rarely sings hymns, and I enjoy the music.  However, I’m a huge fan of the old Hymns (one of my favorite Christmas presents ever was the Andy Griffith CD of Hymns that Queen found for me).

My two favorite hymns are Joyful, Joyful, We Adore Thee (Henry van Dyke/Beethoven) and El Shaddai (Michael Card & John Thompson).

Joyful, Joyful, We Adore Thee

Joyful, joyful, we adore Thee,
God of Glory, Lord of Love;
Hearts unfold like flowers before Thee,
Opening to the sun above.
Melt the clouds of sin and sadness,
Drive the dark of doubt away;
Giver of immortal gladness,
Fill us with the light of day.

Thou are giving and forgiving,
Ever blessing, ever blest,
Wellspring of the joy of living,
Ocean depth of happy rest!
Thou our Father, Christ our Brother –
All who live in love are Thine;
Teach us how to love each other,
Lift us to the joy divine.

Mortals, join the happy chorus
Which the morning starts began;
Father love is reigning o’er us,
Brother love binds man to man.
Ever singing, march we onward,
Victors in the midst of strife,
Joyful music leads us sunward
In the triumph song of life.

I sung this in church from the time I was a little girl – but it was when Sister Act 2 came out in 1993, I heard this song in a completely different way.  (YouTube Video Here)  It was the first time I remember feeling free to worship God without the constraints that society puts on people (especially “church society”).  I still sing this song on a weekly basis – and sometimes I’ll sing the Sister Act Version (to myself, not for others!), I just love it so much.  If I’m feeling upset or angry – this is the best thing for me to hear, my heart cannot help but worship when singing these lyrics.  (For another great Sister Act 2 song – see Oh Happy Day.)

My second favorite Hymn is El Shaddai (Hebrew for G-d Almighty).

El Shaddai

El Shaddai, El Shaddai,
El Elyon na Adonai;
Age to age You’re still the same
By the power of the name.

El Shaddai, El Shaddai,
Erkahmka na Adonai;
We will praise and lift You high,
El Shaddai.

It’s a simple song, but that is what touches me.  It is almost more of a prayer – I can sit alone and sing it over and over.  It helps put my mind and heart in a place to LISTEN to God.  I love praising God and music that helps me do that, but I really enjoy being in a state of worship that envelopes my thoughts.

What songs help you find peace?

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Malenki on 21 03 11 at 9:51 am

    Jesus, Lover of My Soul is one of my favorites – when I need to unwind, I play and sing that song over and over. Be Thou My Vision is another. I love hymns in general, but those two are thought-provoking and beautiful. LOVE YOU!

    Reply

  2. H-m-m… Well, you’re missing a great deal of our Christian heritage if you attend a church that rarely sings hymns–and if you get your knowledge of hymns from a Hollywood movie! The depth of devotion and doctrine in our hymns can’t be replaced. I encourage you to take a look at the Cyber Hymnal, with its 8,300 hymns, found at… http://www.hymntime.com/tch/

    Or, you could check out my own site, where I’ve discussed about a thousand hymns so far…
    http://www.wordwisehymns.com

    God bless.

    Reply

    • After attending churches that only sang hymns for years – I may miss them, but the newer “songs” will become “hymns” in a decade or so. And I certainly don’t get my knowledge of hymns from a Hollywood movie, though my enjoyment of that particular song was truly enhanced after Sister Act 2.

      I love sitting with my Hymnals (I have 10-12 different editions/styles) and going through them. The stories behind the songwriters are amazing, and you’re right – the devotion of those Christians in our past bring us closer to our heritage when we hear their words. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

