To All The Concerned Citizens Staring at Me Today –

Yes, that was me standing in the Grocery Store.

And yes, that was my 2 year old daughter laying on the floor screaming, because I would not buy her a piece of candy.

And YES – I ignored her and allowed her to scream after I tried to comfort her twice, and that didn’t work.

I appreciate your stares and your whispers, but I’ll be fine, thank you.  And so will she.  In fact, she’s happily sitting in her swing now.  She was not scared for life.  She even – GASP – knows her Mummy loves her.

And I’m pretty sure that when she’s 16 and doesn’t expect her parents to give her everything she asks for, you’ll thank me for not having a Self-Centered Brat for a teenager.

Being a parent is hard work, people.  I can do without the snide comments, but they aren’t going to make me change my mind or act differently.  So – you can do whatever you need to do to not be embarrassed by your child in the grocery store, I’ll go ahead and raise a productive member of society.

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by K. C. Pearcey on 19 03 11 at 2:57 pm

    I love you more every day.

    Reply

  2. Posted by chrysti on 19 03 11 at 3:27 pm

    Good for you. I have dealt with the same.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Malenki on 19 03 11 at 6:08 pm

    I agree with Cookie. That’s all that needs to be said!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Rachel M. on 19 03 11 at 9:25 pm

    Been there, done that. You should have seen me at Moe’s one lovely day. Z pitched a MASSIVE fit over CHEESE hanging out of his quesadilla. Massive fit. I literally picked him up, carried him sideways to the bathroom till he calmed down, then walked him back to the booth, where he finished said quesadilla. You would NOT believe the looks I got!!!! I DARE one of them to say something to me-my answer is always a question…did YOU birth him/her? No? Then you have NO say so in this, thank you!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

