What I Learned –

It’s hard to sum up what I really learned last weekend, I perhaps simply came away with a better understanding of myself.  Which, is a good thing I think.  There were many questions I was working through – and still am, but what I’ll remember for a long time is this:

When B10 was born, and we held his Beth Hadid, many people questioned what it was, but were very supportive.  When it came time for CW’s Beth Hadid, the family/friends seemed excited at the ceremony.

When it came time for GO’s Beth Hadid, we had many new faces around, and there were a lot of people who not only questioned, but actively mocked and said rude things about the Beth Hadid.  I don’t think it was intentional, simply that it was a new “ritual” and they didn’t understand the significance.

I remember my feelings were so hurt, I just wanted people to realize how important this was to our children and to us (Hubby, Myself – even my ex-husband).  The time of communal prayer for both the child and the child’s future.

This weekend, and the discussion of rituals and Scripture, really helped me see that it is my responsibility to instill in my children rituals.

One of the things that touched me mostly, was when I had been hesitating to even tell the ladies at my table about the idea of a Beth Hadid.  I thought they would react in the same way I had seen before, with scorn and “odd” looks (which always seem to harbor thoughts of “oddness” about me).  Instead, they were touched.  They – as Grandmothers and Mothers – wish THEY had celebrated the birth and dedication/baptism of their children with a ceremony like that.

They saw the importance of praying for B10, CW & GO’s future spouses.  A couple of the ladies even had tears in their eyes.  I had no idea that the ritual I was feeling ashamed of (for no good reason) would be a well received as it was.

I felt both empowered by their questions and excitement, as well as validated in my internal feelings.  I KNEW I was praising God and celebrating an important event.  I think God knew I needed that outside validation this time, and provided it for me.

I was truly blessed last weekend.

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by chrysti on 18 03 11 at 10:33 pm

    I love that you have rituals and you are so passionate about them. I am sorry I had to miss most of GO’s because of my little butterfly but I enjoyed being a part of it.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Boo on 19 03 11 at 8:05 am

    We love the Beth Hadid’s…it was different and we were probably one of the ones who questioned what it was with B10, but I loved that you did it with each kid, and I too wish we had taken the opportunity to show our children how important it is to PRAY over everything. I might even make our own ritual one day…maybe not a Beth Hadid, but something they can be apart of…5th birthday, maybe?? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

