Women’s Retreat – Day 1

Queen invited me to go on a Methodist Women’s Retreat with her, and since I already know the Methodist Gang Sign, I thought I could sneak in and no one would ever know they had a Baptist in their midst (I found out later a Catholic was there, too, but that’s a story for another time).

We left early Friday, before lunch, and headed north to Lake Junaluska, the Methodist Retreat Center.  We stopped for lunch at a VERY LOUD Wendy’s (High School Girls Choir), where there was no place to sit.  In a very interesting study of teen girl behavior, Queen and I stood there awkwardly holding our trays for a full 3 or 4 minutes, sort of looking around.  Girl after girl evaded our eyes and just kept sitting around talking (please note, most of the girls were DONE eating – so there was no food on the table, the teachers just hadn’t taken them back to the bus).

There was the typical array of High School girls: Geeky ones, nerds, girls who were likely in the Marching Band, the “pretty” girls, a few who were clinging to adults who were obviously their parents – but the ONLY two girls who got up were the only two girls wearing cheerleading sweatshirts.  With no adult prompting, they saw us looking around, stood up and cleared their places – while calling for us (very politely) to come over.  It was interesting, to say the least.

After that, we just had to stop at the Tallulah Gorge Lookout.  It’s my favorite place to take a picture – ever since I saw one of my Daddy and his family when he was younger at the same gorge!

Then, Queen wanted to show me her favorite place on the drive up – Goats on the Roof!

What an awesome place!  (I really want to bring Hubby and the Caterpillars back here!)

We managed to make it to the Retreat Center by 4:15 pm (important, because we had to stop at Starbucks and get our free Petite Pastries – the Lemon Sweet Square is PERFECTION – even if it did make me sick.)  But we carted all our stuff up to our room and relaxed for a few minutes, before heading out to find dinner.

The room was beautiful and quaint!

The view from our window.

Kentucky Fried Chicken was our final dining destination of the day – I was craving a mashed potato bowl (YUM) with extra gravy (DOUBLE YUM).  Then we had to hurry back to the Retreat Center for our first session at 6:30 – Queen plays the piano and Music time tends to be first on the agenda.

The Weekend is about “Rituals” and we studied from the book of Psalms.  I was amazed and really enjoyed myself, especially the part where we selected our “Secret Angels”!

My Timeline of My Life - Rituals

After the session, we went back to our room to get on jammies and then we sat in the lobby and read a book on Bridges (we are wild!).

When we got back to the room – our first gifts were waiting outside our door!

Queen Gift #1

Photo Albums

Gift #1

Pretty Guest Hand Towels

Then off to bed, Day 1 was a blessing to my heart.

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Malenki on 14 03 11 at 6:15 pm

    So glad you got a weekend away with Queen! 🙂 You look adorable, by the way …

    Reply

  2. Posted by chrysti on 14 03 11 at 7:57 pm

    Looks like you had a great time. I hope we can do one together someday!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Bonnie on 15 03 11 at 10:33 am

    So glad you got to make it this year! Sorry I missed it. I hope you can join us again next year. It looks like you guys had a blast. BTW, I’ve always wanted to stop at the Goats on the Roof place to see what that’s all about! 🙂

    Reply

    • I told Queen – I don’t know if I could have handled the excitement if you were there, too! I can’t wait until next year – when you’ll be along! 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

