Hubby vs the Rat

WARNING: This post contains graphic descriptions of deathly things – like maggots.  😉

The Rat

For the second time in my life (and really – no one needs this twice), my house reeked of a dead animal.  A furry type of dead animal.

Last time, a squirrel had crawled into the ductwork and fallen into the “pit” below the register in GO’s bedroom.  It couldn’t get out and died down there.  Then started rotting.  It took us a while to find it – about a week.  A week of HOT air blowing through the METAL ductwork.

GAH!  You can imagine the stench.  The only person pleased about the expensive extraction was B10.  He followed the Rid-A-Critter guys out to their truck and stared at the maggoty, rotting squirrel carcass the entire time.  The wiggling maggots gave him great joy. My child is an Entomologist – I promise you…

The smell and image are burned into my brain, so please try and imagine my dismay when on Saturday B10 said “it smells like something’s dead in here”, while standing in my living room.

At first, I thought it was a reference to my cooking – and I was sorely offended.  Then I stood where he was and took a big sniff.

ARGH!  I KNOW THAT SMELL ANYWHERE!

And it kept getting worse and worse.  Last night, I had a breakdown when I realized that my Mardi Gras party that I had been planning for months wasn’t going to happen, because of a DEAD FURRY CREATURE!

Hubby worked from home today, in the hopes that the Rid-A-Critter guys could come back out (for the low fee of $175 – and that is just to FIND the critter, extracting it costs more).  They couldn’t get to us until tomorrow morning, and I have to admit I was pretty devastated.

But, Hubby, being the aspiring Handyman he is, put on his fleece and crawled into the attic to check things out.  Nothing up there but a bunch of rat poop.  (YAY” she said sarcastically!)

Then he ate lunch and went to check under the house.  He was hoping to find the entry point into the ductwork.

Instead – he found the rat!

A LARGE dead rat laying right next to the intake vent.

A LARGE ROTTING dead rat – so every time the furnace sucked in outside air – it sucked in DEAD ROTTING FLESH SMELL.

Awesome.  I know.  Totally awesome.

But my Husband, fearless as he is, picked up that rat and disposed of him properly!

Bad news is that it’s going to take a while for the smell to dissipate, but it’s getting better.

C3 Family 2 – Dead Furry Creatures 0

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Rachel M. on 08 03 11 at 4:02 pm

    Oh.my.goodness. Way to go, hubby!!! More power to you! I would have FREAKED out!!!!! Hate that smell!! LOTS and LOTS of Febreeze!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Malenki on 08 03 11 at 7:55 pm

    Okay, that STINKS – literally AND figuratively! Way to go, Hubby Butterfly! I H-A-T-E the smell of dead anything, especially in a vent in my house … The last time that happened to me we had a SNAKE in the vent … B10 would have loved it. 😉 Sorry about the Mardi Gras party, Sis. I’d still have come … HUGS!

    Reply

  3. […] would like to know if her appearance is a testimony to my RAT problem, […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

