March Musical Monday – Week 1

For the month of March, I’m encouraging all my bloggy friends to document music that has touched their lives in some way.  When I’m riding in the car with the radio on, certain songs come on that make me think.  Songs that perhaps mean something to me, because I’ve gone through the same situation or felt the same emotions.

Or perhaps the song is simply touching – the songwriter has told a story exquisitely and the singer (or singers) bring it to life in a way that usually brings tears to my eyes or makes me think.

Throughout this month, I’ll be posting a new song each Monday and describing what it means to me.  I would love to read songs that have touched my friends’ lives – leave a comment with a favorite song, or post on your own blog and let everyone know in the comments here, so we can visit.

The first song I’ve chosen in a pretty new song: Lady Antebellum’s “Hello World” – and while I had heard the song once or twice, it wasn’t until I saw the video on CMT that I really stopped and listened to what the song was saying.

Traffic crawls, cell phone calls
Talk video screams at me
Through my tinted window I see
A little girl, rust red minivan
She’s got chocolate on her face
Got little hands, and she waves at me
Ya, she smiles at me

Hello world
How’ve you been?
Good to see you, my old friend
Sometimes I feel cold as steel
Broken like I’m never gonna heal
I see a light, a little hope
In a little girl
Hello world

Every day I drive by
A little white church
It’s got these little white crosses
Like angels in the yard
Maybe I should stop on in
Say a prayer
Maybe talk to God
Like He is here
Oh I know He’s there
Ya, I know He’s there

Hello world
How’ve you been?
Good to see you, my old friend
Sometimes I feel as cold as steel
And broken like I’m never going to heal
I see a light
A little grace, a little faith unfurled
Hello world

Sometimes I forget what living’s for
And I heave my life through my front door
And I’ll be there
Oh I’m home again
I see my wife, little boy, little girl
Hello world
Hello world

All the empty disappears
I remember why I’m here
Just surrender and believe
I fall down on my knees
Oh hello world
Hello world
Hello world

If you’re not a fan of country music – I still highly recommend listening just once.  The video can be seen on YouTube here.  (And make sure you have a tissue handy.)

When I hear the song, it reminds me that even when my Caterpillars are driving me crazy – or Hubby for that matter – that I love them and wouldn’t trade them for anything.  Things and Activities get in the way of life, but it’s the people who are important.

I remember moving away from church, because I felt so disillusioned by the place and betrayed by people who claim to be Christians.  And the joy of realizing that God doesn’t leave you – even when you seem to leave Him.  Most of all the blessings of finding those people who you can worship with and serve God with.

So, what is your Musical Monday Song today?  What did you hear on the radio that moved you lately?

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Malenki on 07 03 11 at 12:27 pm

    Oh, so many songs – each for a slightly different reason. Stricken, Smitten, and Afflicted would be my ‘March Musical Monday’ song today. Those lyrics brought tears to my eyes when Shepherd Help mentioned finding grace in our suffering because Christ is Propitiation for us.

    Stricken, smitten, and afflicted,
    See Him dying on the tree!
    ’Tis the Christ by man rejected;
    Yes, my soul, ’tis He, ’tis He!
    ’Tis the long expected prophet,
    David’s Son, yet David’s Lord;
    By His Son, God now has spoken:
    ’Tis the true and faithful Word.

    Tell me, ye who hear Him groaning,
    Was there ever grief like His?
    Friends through fear His cause disowning,
    Foes insulting His distress:
    Many hands were raised to wound Him,
    None would interpose to save;
    But the deepest stroke that pierced Him,
    Was the stroke that Justice gave.

    Ye who think of sin but lightly,
    Nor suppose the evil great,
    Here may view its nature rightly,
    Here its guilt may estimate.
    Mark the Sacrifice appointed!
    See Who bears the awful load!
    ’Tis the Word, the Lord’s Anointed,
    Son of Man, and Son of God.

    Here we have a firm foundation,
    Here the refuge of the lost.
    Christ’s the Rock of our salvation,
    His the Name of which we boast.
    Lamb of God for sinners wounded!
    Sacrifice to cancel guilt!
    None shall ever be confounded
    Who on Him their hope have built.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

