We Be Big – A Review of Rick and Bubba’s New Book

I selected this book, because I have aways enjoyed reading about celebrities that share their faith.  I certainly knew who Rick & Bubba were, but had no idea of just how solid their faith truly was.  Their persona (for those who don’t listen to their show) is very “Two Sexy Fat Guys”.

In real life – they are strong Christians who have chosen not to be Hosts on Christian Radio – but Radio Hosts that are Christian.  And God has given them an amazing platform.  It’s an inspiration for those of us called to “regular” jobs – instead of mission work – and a reminder that we are ALL called to “mission work” in our everyday lives.

Two types of people will enjoy this amazing autobiographical account of their rise to “Radio Stardom”; Christians who enjoy reading and fans of Rick & Bubba, of any faith.  They are unashamed in trusting God and explaining how they are guided by His hand.

I really loved how transparent they are.  They are not perfect people, but they trust in a worthy God.  The chapter where Rick talks about losing his son (“Cornbread”), but is able to move forward, because he believes that GOD has a higher purpose for this tragedy, is heartbreaking, while at the same time being uplifting.  Rick and Bubba, through their book, make you WANT to know more about their God.

One of my favorite books of the year, hands down.

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mary on 07 03 11 at 4:32 pm

    These guys are hometown heroes of mine- I’m from Calhoun county and grew up listening to them first on local and eventually nationally syndicated radio. I’ll have to check out the book!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Malenki on 07 03 11 at 6:10 pm

    Yay – I love good books … 😀 Makes me happy when you love a book you read, just because I like to see you smile! ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

