Blue & Gold – Boy Scout Crossover

Blue & Gold – it’s the Boy Scouts of America Birthday Party every year.  A banquet that each Pack holds to celebrate and serve cake and get all fancy-like (I mean, still in jeans…but jeans-fancy).

Also, every year, the oldest boys Crossover into Boy Scouting.  They get on a bridge and their parents take off all their Webelos II “stuff” (patches/pins/etc) – then a Boy Scout from the Troop they are joining meets them half-way on the bridge and welcomes them to Boy Scouting.

Honestly, I have spent the last three years working in the kitchen during the actual program portion (GO HAMGIRL AND CHICKENBOY!).  Even when I was Committee Chair, I only came out to talk briefly.

This year, though, it was B10’s turn to leave Cub Scouting behind and become a full-fledged Boy Scout.

I still served my ham in the kitchen, but I came out to participate in the Arrow of Light Ceremony and the Crossover.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Arrow of Light is the highest award a Cub Scout can earn.  He’ll wear his patch on his uniform for the rest of his life.  He also earned Super Achiever – meaning that there are 20 Activity pins that can be earned in his Webelos Years – and he earned all 20.  I am so proud of him, I can’t explain it.  For all his silliness – HE was the driving force behind doing the pins.  HE wanted to achieve his Arrow of Light.  HE wants this.  I see so many kids who are pushed by their parents to achieve, and they get burned out.

When it was my turn to talk, I got choked up and couldn’t speak.  (Yes, I had trouble speaking.)  I think after 5 years as his Den Leader, B10 understood what I was trying to say.

The most exciting part was listening to B10 talk about how he couldn’t wait to be a Boy Scout and earn his Eagle Scout Rank – and his goal is to work towards possibly earning a Hornaday Medal.  B10 is already asking me to help him make a large chart for his bedroom wall – with ALL the things he needs to become an Eagle Scout and work on his Hornaday Medal, so he can “keep his goals at the front of his plans”.  (His words, not mine.)

I am grateful to all the family members who could attend – and to those who celebrated B10’s achievements long-distance.  It’s been a wild ride, and it’s only getting better from here!

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Malenki on 23 02 11 at 10:27 am

    You make me smile. You make me cry. You make me proud. I love you, B10 – and, like your Mummy, I can’t explain how proud I am of you, or how much I love you. ❤

    Reply

  2. YAY B10!!! We are SO proud of you!!!!

    Reply

  3. […] crossed over 2 years ago, and tonight his troop welcomed CW and another boy (Quilting Bee’s oldest son).  It has been […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

