Step Away – Step Back

I’ve chronicled my theatre exploits on this blog, and so most of you reading know that after my Christmas Show (Trial of Ebeneezer Scrooge), I decided to step away from the theatre for a bit.  Between the four shows I did last year (2 directing, 2 acting), I really wanted a couple of months theatre-free.

Hubby and I are still trying to wrap our minds around OI, dealing with GO not really gaining weight, B10 moving on to Boy Scouts and CW preparing to move to Webelos, plus Hubby’s new vanpool (which involves him having to wake up at 5:30 am).

It’s been good to have time off, I have pretty much perfected how to meal plan.  We don’t eat out near as much and there isn’t any stress with the Caterpillars asking “What is for dinner?”  I’m sure I’ll get even better as time goes on.  I’ve gotten to spend a lot more time with the Caterpillars, and with Hubby.

But an opportunity came up.  Since last Spring, when this year’s slate was announced, Hubby and I had talked about there was only one play I really wanted to audition for.  Well, we had a family meeting this week – and decided that we could make it work if I was offered a role.

So I auditioned for Diary of Anne Frank.  I was hoping for a small role, Miep Gies.  I hold a special place in my heart for Miep – I read her book telling of Anne and Margot and Edith and Otto quite soon after I read Anne’s Diary.  I spent a moment in prayer when she died in January of 2010.  I remember thinking of her when B10 and I took Princess Flower to visit the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington, DC.

I was blown away when I saw the cast list, and I had received the part of Edith Frank, Anne’s Mum.  I love theatre and have had a variety of roles in my lifetime, but I can’t think of another time when I’ve been asked to play a “real” person.  I am more nervous about this role, for that very reason, than any role I’ve ever had.  But excited!

Performances occur during Holocaust Remembrance Month (first 3 weekends in April).  Let me know if you would like tickets!

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

7 responses to this post.

  1. Soooooo excited for you, Chris!!! Congrats again girl! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ashley McLure on 18 02 11 at 10:19 am

    We’d love to see it, but it’d have to be the 3rd weekend. We’re in DC the other two. Break a leg!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Rachel M. on 18 02 11 at 10:29 am

    Congratulations!!!!! That is so exciting!

    Reply

  4. Posted by chrysti on 18 02 11 at 10:48 am

    Beyond excited for you!

    Reply

  5. CONGRATS – look forward to seeing you in it.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Malenki on 18 02 11 at 11:39 am

    You’ll be AWESOME! 😀 Hope I can make it … As you know, I’ve been trying for … Wow, a YEAR now. :/ LOVE YOU!

    Reply

  7. SO excited for you!!! What a wonderful thing 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

