Defiant Joy – by Kevin Belmonte – A Review

I chose this book to review, because it looked like a biography.  I mean, the title is “The Remarkable LIFE & Impact of G.K. Chesterton”, right?  Wrong.  I absolutely love biographies and will read just about any one I can get my hands on.

Perhaps if I had realized it was more of a collection of his writings and perceptions of those writings and a very limited description of his life.  I came into this book unfamiliar with G.K. Chesterton.  I leave the book, still feeling quite unfamiliar with the writer.  I can speak to his books, but I’m less clear how his life affected his writings.

I will say I enjoyed the quotations, even if there were quite a few (25% of the book or more, it felt like).  I thought the actual writing by Belmonte was excellent, he is a natural author.  But the book, itself, seemed like a sham.  Had it been presented as an anthology of reviews of his work, I might have enjoyed it more.  Or I might have bypassed it for a book I would have liked better.

A Chesterton fan will love this book.  Someone unfamiliar with Chesterton, however, should find somewhere else to start.

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Boo on 16 02 11 at 9:07 am

    Silly looking book…glad you were able to shed some light for anyone thinking of picking it up 🙂 Boo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

