The Valentine’s Day Surprise

Our special V-Day Family Surprise was a trip to the local swimming pool.

It’s been a long time since GO was really in a pool (with play equipment and a Lazy River).  She played with Hubby and I, and kept reaching back and forth for us in the Lazy River, plus she’s begun “kicking” her legs and “paddling” her arms.  She even got her face wet and dunked her head!  B10 and CW were in the water and moving so fast I could barely get a glimpse of them.  🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We stayed until the very end  – getting the Caterpillars out of the pool in just enough time to get dressed (so we didn’t keep the nice lifeguards late).

I had left a Lasagna in the oven baking, so as soon as we got home, dinner was on the table.  It was a great workout for Hubby (he lost another 1.5 lbs this week!) – and it was a tiring event for the Caterpillars (YAY!).

Hubby and I go back and forth over purchasing a family pool pass – sometimes (like tonight) it seems like it would be perfect for us – but you have to USE it for it to be worth it.  We figured out that if we go swimming more than twice a month, it’ll pay for itself.  But – that means cutting and rearranging our very tight budget.  Oh, decisions…decisions!

Happy Valentine’s Day (a day late!) to you and all of yours!

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by chrysti on 15 02 11 at 10:32 pm

    I like that our pools in attached to the gym so gym membership plus a pool. It makes the $44 a month pretty worth it. I know you will make the right decision!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Melissa on 15 02 11 at 11:08 pm

    I still think that you should join our neighborhood pool and leave the “water park” pool as an extra special treat. I might be a bit biased though since having your kids at our pool this summer would mean that my kids enjoy themselves more and I would have to entertain them less 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Boo on 16 02 11 at 9:10 am

    That looks like a great surprise! Were you the only ones there?? How fun! I can’t decide what we are going to do about a pool this year, I am SO sad our YMCA closed 😦 I am glad you guys had a great day. The kids look like they had a blast. Were the slides and stuff open too? Boo

    Reply

    • I wish there was a G-County Pool closer to you guys – I love the fact they are open during the day during the school year. But I think they are underutilized during the Spring/Fall/Winter months anyway! It’s practically EMPTY those three seasons. We had the pool to ourselves basically for the first 30 minutes, then it got “crowded” with a whole 12 other people. It was crazy slow.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

