The Thrifty Pirate

AKA: How to Have a Cheap Pirate Birthday Party

CW is having a spend the night party tonight, and requested a Pirate themed party.  I’ve searched online, and found a few package deals, but they were all expensive ($75-100 just for supplies) and I knew we could do cheaper than that!

I want to say – up front –  that you might be able to find the supplies even cheaper than I did, however I made a point to shop at a locally owned Party Supply Store.  I’m sure the Dollar Tree has many of these items, but for me – I need to try to spend more money supporting the business owners in my community.  That’s what makes it a community!

So here is an overview of the supplies – I spent a total of $22.25, including using a $5 coupon on the back of a Kroger receipt.

Pirate Supplies

I insisted on a “gentle” pirate theme – no bloody bones, etc.  We only needed plates and napkins, because CW didn’t want a birthday cake.  Instead, he wanted Sprite Floats with Vanilla Ice Cream!  (Excellent!)

8 count napkins and plates (one reason why small parties are nice!)

For the Sprite Floats, we found tiny swords to spear fruit with (to go in the float) and finger puppets to float on top of the Ice Cream.  I am trying to figure out how to make ice cubes with them…but that’s another party!

Sprite Float Accessories

Two party games.  One “Pin the Pirate on the Treasure” and then we’ll hide coins around the house and play “Hot/Cold”.

Games

Then, CW choose eye patches, tattoos and gold coins for his “treat bags” – that aren’t treat bags!

"Treat Bag" Items

I took the eye patch, put 2 coins inside and began wrapping with with leftover crepe streamers I had.  As I wrapped, I added the tattoos and more coins to “mummify” the items.

Extra Crepe Streamers

Then with a little gentle shaping, and a artistically placed $ sign – Gold Dabloons!

Dabloon!

With Gold Coin for Size Reference

Each boy will get a Gold Dabloon and 2 pirate pencils when he leaves.

Treat Pencils

There are also extra eye patches to wear during the party.

My Pirate - CW

For dinner we are having Mac&Cheese with Hot Dogs mixed in.  Cheap (very!) and easy to prepare.  For our other entertainment, the boys will watch VeggieTales “The Pirates Who Don’t Do Anything” and play the Wii.

Overall, cost less than $35, which is pretty good for a party with 6 little boys!

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Malenki on 04 02 11 at 12:19 pm

    Yay! You’re so creative! Have a fun birthday party, CW – and have a Sprite Float for me! 😉 Love you!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Boo on 04 02 11 at 10:07 pm

    Looks like fun! I know CW will have a wonderful time 🙂 Happy (early) birthday CW! Love you guys! Boo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

