Hubby’s Weight Loss

Hubby Butterfly has been doing an amazing job staying on track with his Weight Watchers.  Tonight marked the end of his 5th week on the program – and he lost 2.2lbs this week!  That’s 19.9 lbs total – an average of over 3.5lbs per week.  I am so proud of how hard he’s worked and how dedicated he’s been to losing weight.

Today, I wanted to use up the last of the meat in my deep freezer – but it was a pot roast, and I didn’t have any carrots (and not near enough potatoes).  So I improvised and cooked the beef, then shredded it to make a homemade beef veggie soup.

It tasted GOOD!  None of the Caterpillars complained at all – and Hubby had two bowls full!  (It also made a LOT of soup – there is plenty to have for leftovers and I might freeze some.  I like have emergency soup!)

Beef Vegetable Soup

1 1/2 cup(s) canned yellow corn
20 oz cooked beef chuck arm pot roast
2 cup(s) frozen baby peas
3 cup(s) Minute Instant Whole Grain Brown Rice
1 1/2 cup(s) Eden Organic Cannellini (white kidney) Beans
1/4 cup(s) beef bouillon granules
12 cup(s) hot water
1/4 cup(s) Worcestershire sauce

 

1) Cook the pot roast in the oven.  I simply set mine in a pan and used aluminum foil to create a tent.  350 degrees for 2 hours.

2) Shred the pot roast.

3) Add Beef Bullion and Hot Water to a large pot on the stove.  Wisk until bullion is dissolved completely.

4) Add beef, peas, corn and kidney beans.  Bring to a boil.

5) Add brown rice (I use the boil in a bag – and just cut the bag and dumped the rice in).  Boil for 5 minutes.

6) Add Worcestershire Sauce.  Simmer for 45 minutes to an hour.

Yield: 12 servings

Weight Watchers Points: 7 per serving

I think this was a fitting end to my “no grocery shopping – Pantry Cleanse” month!  All the ingredients were on hand, and I was able to really get my freezer ready for my first attempt at monthly grocery shopping.  I’m almost a little nervous about tomorrow – I’m about to head to the kitchen to work on sorting coupons for the big trip.

Hope everyone’s New Year’s Resolutions are still going strong!  I’m saying it again – I’m SO PROUD of Hubby Butterfly’s commitment!

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Malenki on 31 01 11 at 8:40 pm

    Way to go, Hubby Butterfly!! Proud of you, Sis, for cleaning out the kitchen! 😀 Dinner sounds YUMM-O … Made me hungry!!! ❤ me

    Reply

  2. Posted by Boo on 31 01 11 at 9:05 pm

    YAY Hubby Butterfly!! That is awesome!! I am proud of you guys! Boo

    Reply

  3. Posted by chrysti on 31 01 11 at 9:23 pm

    Yeah for your hubby. I hope you enjoy your one month shopping trip. I can’t wait to get back to a normal 6 person family routine and be cooking regular meals again. I love when you post recipes! Love getting fresh ideas!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

