Why?

Today has been rough.  I’m not sure why, since outwardly it seem so productive.

I managed to get everyone out of bed at a reasonable time, the auto-timer delay on the coffee maker worked perfectly and there was plenty of hot water for hot cocoa for breakfast.  I had made a crust-less quiche last night – which everyone seemed to enjoy this morning.

School started promptly and I was able to have everything laid out quickly.  I even managed to empty the dishwasher, cook lunch, reload the dishwasher, feed the family and reload the dishwasher before 1 pm.  Plus, set out tonight’s dinner supplies (Beef Jambalaya) and make a Pasta Bake which is now in my freezer for later this week or next.

It seems as though I’m on top of things – CW has finished all his schoolwork and B10 is working diligently on his.

I have no idea why I’m so discouraged.  None whatsoever.  I know that yesterday’s sermon bothered me, not the sermon so much as a story that our Pastor told.  It wasn’t a “story”, but an accurate recounting of a historical fact, but it turned my stomach.  I haven’t felt right since then.

The incidents occurred over three thousand years ago.  It shouldn’t affect me this much.  But his description was so vivid that I cried for people who have been dead for-practically-ever.

I spent time this morning in prayer, asking God to reveal why this touched me so profoundly and what I am suppose to learn, but the answer still eludes me.

I am ever so thankful that B10 chose yesterday to make his 6th grade debut at LUG!  He would not have coped well, either.

On an unrelated note, it was also the first time I think I’ve ever worn jeans to church on Sunday morning.  Every other church I’ve ever been a member of, I am pretty sure wouldn’t have routinely accepted such clothing.  But then, I don’t know any of my past churches that would have sat and let the preacher teach what Pastor Buddy did yesterday.

We are ready to join the church, Hubby and I have talked about it and have known for a while we wanted to join, but this church is different.  There is no aisle walking.  There is no invitation.  To “join” you must make a commitment to take their class (a two parter – four weeks total) and unfortunately, while we have completed the first class – the second class has always been scheduled during Cub Scouts.

In February, they are changing the time to earlier.  It looks as though our close friends, Aunt K and Uncle Batman, have been discussing joining themselves.  The thought of embarking on this journey together with them is meaningful to me and reinforces what a perfect fit this church is for us.

I’m feeling a bit better now, perhaps I needed more time.  Or perhaps I have simply spent 30 minutes without a Caterpillar asking me a question.  🙂

I look forward to the future.

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Malenki on 17 01 11 at 7:30 pm

    Oh, sweet Sister – I am so sorry you have had a hard day … I am glad you feel better after ‘talking’ about it. I have been praying for you today (before I read the post, I just ‘felt’ like I needed to pray for you – I love how God always gives each of us a ‘sense’ that the other needs prayer. He is good!) I love you so very much and I am praying you feel peaceful tonight. love, M

    Reply

Leave a Reply

