Left at the Altar – A Review

Left at the Altar

by Kimberly Kennedy

When I first decided to review this book, I couldn’t really understand my motivations.  I’m in a wonderful, God-chosen and God-blessed relationship with a Christian Husband.

But, I have been rejected by men before.  I don’t know of a woman that hasn’t.  The idea behind the book is more universal than the wedding dress on the cover would lead you to believe.

Kimberly Kennedy is a well known media personality, perhaps more so here, since she’s based in Atlanta.  The night of her rehearsal, she stood in a church, surrounded by her family and friends, as her Lew’s sister arrived late – telling her that Lew (the groom) needed to speak to her.  He sat down with her and the Minster and announced that “He couldn’t do it.”

The story is of a famous woman who finds that even if you’re on the “right” side of the story, having it blasted across the media is still humiliating.  Of how grief and anger can try to destroy you.  How no matter how strong you are, without God’s blessing you cannot make a happy ending.

She rails at God (it’s HIS fault, if HE loved her then HE would have made Lew marry her).  She finds faults within herself (if only SHE had been better, Lew wouldn’t have left).  Eventually, she recognizes the Deceiver for who he is.  Satan’s trick of old, to destroy a woman by convincing her that her self-worth is tied into the man she’s with, rather than the God who created her.

It’s a touching love story, of a woman and her God.  The practical advice she gives, including – but not limited to – Scripture is a tool I wish I had years ago.  I highly recommend this book for anyone who has been rejected, for even a man can benefit from remembering where self-worth should flow from.  I’ll be keeping it on hand to share with friends, as the need arises.

In fact, if I may be so bold – might I ask you to pray for such a situation?  A friend, who shall remain nameless, has found herself in this situation.  As friends of both parties, my heart aches for their pain.  I pray they will remain in God’s will, whatever that will is.

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Malenki on 17 01 11 at 7:34 pm

    I have been praying for the friends all week, and will continue to pray that God would bring healing – and most of all, that God’s love would be enough! I read the sweetest quote yesterday : “God, pointing at the altar, says, ‘That is enough for me’; the sinner responds, and says, ‘It is enough for me.'” (The Everlasting Righteousness, Horatius Bonar) ❤ you!

    Reply

  2. Thank you for your thoughtful review and I will pray for your friend as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

