Possession – A Book Review

Possession is a good book, not a great book – but I after finishing it, I realize I am not part of the Target Audience.  I have an idea that when I give this book to my sister, Boo Sheep, she will think it’s a great book.

The story is of a Police Detective, Vance Graegan, who leaves his Washington, DC to move his family to California in the hopes of starting a new life.  He suffers from a deep dark secret that he has kept from his wife and child (Lindy and Conner).

Conner is the glue that ties the story together – his parents are struggling with their marriage, their new life and the move – then they find out that Joe the Mover is holding every single one of their Possessions for ransom.  It is Conner and his Etch-A-Sketch, his innocence and his faith in God, that the reader is drawn back to time and time again.

My disappointment was more that the bad characters are bad and the good characters are good.  It’s a very black and white story, with a excellent moral, but a very straight line way of dealing with everything.  Fans of James Patterson and Karen Kingsbury will love this book, and the Christian elements are solid throughout.  It just wasn’t “my type of book”.

Rene Gutteridge is an excellent author, make no mistake about it.  One of my favorite quotes from a book in years came from Chapter 29.  Conner is trying to teach his mum, Lindy, how to pray and they have the following exchange:

“…you always have to thank God first.  That’s important.  If you don’t be thankful, then you miss out on what God’s doing.  You don’t see it.”

“But let’s pretend we’re getting ready to be in a car wreck, and we need God’s help fast.  Then what kind of prayer do you pray?”

“You don’t pray then, Mom,” he said.  “You just trust that He’s there.”

Ms. Gutteridge claims the story is about possessions, and how we hold onto “things”, but I think this short conversation on prayer is the true moral of the story.  At least the one I’ll walk away with.

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

(Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.  I am not required to write a positive review.)

(p.s. – Boo Sheep, this one will be yours to read as soon as I see you next – I can’t WAIT to hear what you think of it.)

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Boo on 13 01 11 at 8:22 am

    Sounds intriguing…thank you for thinking of me. It will be weird to hold a book after reading my kindle so much lately. 🙂 Boo

    Reply

  2. Posted by Malenki on 13 01 11 at 11:35 am

    Looks like one that I wouldn’t be able to put down! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

