Need Ideas for One Special Kid

Okay – B10’s 11th birthday has come and gone – but he knew that his special present from Hubby and I was going to happen in February/March.  What he doesn’t know is WHAT this present is.

I am planning on taking him to spend a weekend away in downtown Atlanta, where together we will do the Passport2Purity program.

Hubby and I have actually discussed and decided on his special gift – we are giving him a “real” Bible (a leather study Bible), which I am hoping to have embossed with his name.

But I want the weekend to be something he will remember forever – a Memory Making Weekend.

When I asked him (a general question), he said that eating new foods and visiting cool museums were more important than an indoor swimming pool (shocking to me! – he IS growing up!).  So I’m looking for an area that has a nice hotel and some really excellent restaurants.  B10 will try anything – I’ve looked at FlipBurgerBoutique and a few others.  I would love to walk as much as possible – it makes the time seem more special (he’s still at the age where he likes to hold my hand).

Does anyone have suggestions?  Hubby and I are on a budget, but we’ve committed to spending a bit to make this a very special weekend and building a foundation for a different relationship as he grows older.  (We’ll do the same for the other Caterpillars on their 11th Birthdays – but a trip that is special for them.)

Special thanks to our friends, the Over&Over Family who have done the program with Over1 (and will do it for Over2-5), and encouraged us to give B10 this experience.

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Boo on 12 01 11 at 9:08 am

    Don’t have many suggestions, but I am pretty good at playing the “priceline” game… so let me know if I can help you book a hotel. What area are you looking at? It sounds like a fun weekend. Boo

    Reply

  2. Posted by Malenki on 12 01 11 at 9:17 am

    Wow. Umm … Let’s see … What has he seen in downtown? What are his ‘favorites’ as far as museums? What ethnic food have NONE of you tried? I have a hard time STARTING the surprise-picking process, but once I get going, I can really get going! 😉

    Reply

  3. Posted by Niki on 12 01 11 at 10:55 am

    I would say you should try the Sheraton at Colony Square. It’s older, but it’s usually reasonably priced and within walking distance of the High, Piedmont Park, and a Marta Line. There’s also a food court in Colony Square (remember the Chick-Fil-A we went to that day we dressed as Penguins and walked around Midtown?).

    Reply

  4. I went to flip burger a few years ago and loved it! I can see you enjoying it as well. The burgers are really fun and although you won’t be able to have the milkshakes they are pretty unique too. I am not up with everything in ATL anymore but I remember really enjoying the High museum of Art.
    Can’t wait to hear about the weekend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

