My Snow Angels

Snow Day 2011!

After a White Christmas (huge surprise!), we were not expecting more snow in January.  Leaving Florida (and 65 degree weather), we REALLY weren’t expecting a snowy week!

BUT – the weather had other plans, and the snow began falling last night around 8:30 pm.

I tried to take pictures in the dark…you can at least see some of the progression.

We woke up this morning to a field of white – and as soon as I opened the front door, I could tell that the powdery snow was hidden by a thick layer of ice (measured at almost a quarter of an inch when I pulled out the ruler).  We had 4-5 inches of snow, with drifts up to a foot (if not higher) in places.

Because I am the meanest Mum in the world, we had school first (after a breakfast of homemade muffins).  I’m working on a new system, and today went well.  Hubby was home and able to sit at the table and work with B10 and CW.  I put GO in her high chair and I’ve started gathering manipulatives for her to work with (I’m hoping my sister-in-law has ideas and hand-me-downs in this area!)  Work was interrupted briefly when their friend on our street (who is also homeschooled) appeared at the door.

Apparently HE had finished his schoolwork already (it was around 11 am).  B10 and CW asked if tomorrow they could be woken up at 6 am to start work.

Um, no.  Your Mummy doesn’t DO schoolwork at 6 am….

After finishing their morning assignments (I let them save History and Bible – and B10’s Science for the afternoon), they ran to get dressed, while Hubby and I layered up GO and ourselves.

Then we opened the front door, and I about cried it was so cold!

B10 and CW had a blast, and I thought GO was getting too chilled.  So Hubby and I brought her in, but she stood in the foyer and screamed until Hubby took her back outside to play!

She eventually came inside (after trying to make Snow Angels with Hubby – she’s so light she could barely break through the layer of ice).

The boy Caterpillars continued to play with their friends, eventually finding lids and one REAL sled to use on our driveway (we have the “hilly” driveway on the street).

Finally, when CW was in tears (he still wanted to play, but his hands were frozen) – I brought them inside and everyone had homemade Minestrone Soup for lunch.

Now, we are resting in our beds, B10 and CW are reading their novels, GO is fast asleep and Hubby and I are enjoying the peace and quiet!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hope your Snow Day 2011 was fun and now you’re warm!

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

Other Snow Day 2011 Posts:
The Sheep Family

The Hartley Family

Aunt CC & The Garden Girls

Ashley’s Randomness

Life, In Recipes

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Boo on 10 01 11 at 5:17 pm

    Looks like fun! I am glad you were all able to enjoy the snow…and you had a great hill to slide on. I bet GO just wanted to slide too 🙂 -Boo

    Reply

  2. Posted by Malenki on 10 01 11 at 5:21 pm

    Looks like so much fun! Um, sorry Mummy, but I am SO with your boys … I would totally wake up that early to do school and keep playing in the snow – in fact, I think I’ve done that before! 😉 Keep warm. I LOVE YOU!

    Reply

    • Posted by Malenki on 10 01 11 at 5:22 pm

      Oh, you are NOT the meanest Mum in the world. I wish I had your diligence – I would have said ‘Yes’!

      Reply

  3. I certainly have ideas for you. I also bought some stuff at hobby lobby while I was down to make for Dragonfly but then the toy she got for Christmas serves the same purpose. So I will make the manipulative for GO. It works on color matching and fine motor skills. I think it will be perfect for her. Contact paper with scraps of paper or other misc pieces works really well. You can tape it to the high chair and just let her stick things to it. The sensory buckets and playdough are a lot of fun too. I will send you random things as I think of them. Can’t wait to hear how it all is working for you.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Hubby on 10 01 11 at 10:38 pm

    It was coooooold out there!!

    Reply

    • Posted by Malenki on 12 01 11 at 8:17 am

      I just LOVED the pic of you and GO snuggling after playing outside in the cold. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

