Gift for Sister Sheep

I really want to make more homemade gifts this year – BUT – I don’t want to do “lame-I-have-no-talent” gifts, which can be a fine line, because I don’t have a ton of talent in the gift-making department.

I found an incredible idea on another blog (Chasing Cheerios) for Sister Sheep’s birthday present.

I had already decided that I was going to check with Boo Sheep to see if it would be okay to make her little tablecloths for the play table in the Sheep’s playroom.  Boo Sheep was cool with that idea, but I knew it wasn’t something to PLAY with.

For Christmas, Sister Sheep recieved a Dress Up Box – which many relatives/friends helped her fill.  And what better to go with a Dress Up Box, then makeup?  But play makeup is messy and generally disgusting (petroleum jelly with food coloring added…) – and I knew that Boo Sheep wouldn’t enjoy that.  Not to mention, once it’s gone – it’s gone.

But here was the cool thing – I basically took an old makeup case I had lying around (something I could have easily bought at the Dollar Store, if I hadn’t had one).

Old Make Up Case

I cleaned it out VERY throughly.  All the old makeup went in the trash and I used soap and makeup remover with Q-tips to clean every nook and cranny.

Empty and Clean

Finally, I filled the slots with fingernail polish!  I happen to have a wide assortment from working at a store that sold nail polish, so after season I would pay ten cents for a bottle.

Working on the Color Layout

It wasn't easy to decide where all the colors went!

Colored Sparkles

For more colors, I added one drop of food coloring to the clear sparkly polish I had.

Clear Sparkle - added food coloring later to other empty slots.

OH MY GOSH!  I LOVE IT!  It is absolutely beautiful, and won’t make any mess!

The finished product!

I plan on buying a little set of brushes at the Dollar Store, but if I had purchased a new compact, I would have simply saved the brushes out of it.  Either way, this cost me $1.

My tip, should you try this, is to plan it WAY in advance.  This is NOT a last minute gift idea – unless the other part of your gift is handing a child a box full of noxious fumes.  The smell is STRONG, with so much nail polish in one place.  It needs to be pretty thick (compared to painting a nail), to look great.

I am so excited!

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by chrysti on 04 01 11 at 10:39 pm

    That is a great idea!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Malenki on 05 01 11 at 9:12 am

    Who said you weren’t creative?? 😀 GREAT idea – and it turned out BEAUTIFUL! Sister will love it!! ❤

    Reply

  3. Posted by Boo on 05 01 11 at 9:46 pm

    So great! She is going to love it!! boo

    Reply

  4. That is an AWESOME idea! I finally found you…I’ve been trying to figure out how to contact you since you commented on “Raising Acorns”. We go to church with all the “sheep” family. 😉 Glad to finally “meet” you. If you ever come with them sometime, let me know! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

