Adventures in Booga Booga Land – Volume 1 (DVD)

This is a children’s DVD that “cartoons” three of the Parables of Jesus.  Because it is a children’s DVD – and it came from a Christian company I trusted, I decided to let the Caterpillars watch it without me the first time (we watched it again, together).

B10 and CW really enjoyed it, however it didn’t capture the attention of GO (and she does actually watch TV at her age).  When I watched it with them, I was highly disappointed.  Chalk it up to the total awesomeness of VeggieTales, but I have come to expect Christian Children’s DVDs to tell a story, be of high quality and be watchable by parents & children together.

This DVD fell short.  Marty the Monkey (one of the main characters) reminded me more of a character you would see on secular Saturday morning cartoons – lots of cartoon violence, getting in trouble and general disrespect for the other characters.  Which led to B10 and CW wrestling around and acting like the monkey (no lamps were harmed in the watching of this program – but just barely).  Monkey see – monkey do.

The Biblical lessons weren’t overly clear to kids (and I have pretty smart kids), and while I’m all for DVDs being conversation starters (we’ve had some great ones after a VeggieTale), I still want my kids to GET IT from the DVD.  The quality wasn’t up to the standards I expect either, but it was a good start (something that might come as the series takes off and more DVDs come out).

Overall, I might buy a second DVD if I ever saw them on sale, but if there was a VeggieTale I didn’t have nearby, I would pass this over without a problem.

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(


I received this DVD free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Malenki on 08 11 10 at 9:55 pm

    Wow. Sorry about that, Sis! I’m glad there weren’t any broken lamps … I DO love Veggie Tales – we do grammar with Bob and Larry regularly. 😉 Love you guys. ❤ Malenki

    Reply

Leave a Reply

