Back to the ER

After our first trip last week, we finally found out that GO had an infected bug bite on her little bum.  The bite became worse when MRSA was found, and abscessed – not pleasant at all – BUT the heavy duty Bactrim seemed to be knocking it out.

Then yesterday, GO’s thumb started looking odd.  Really odd.  Like she was turning into an Eggplant/Ugly Fruit crossbreed, starting with her thumb.

So this morning, we headed to the doctor, who sent us BACK to the ER.

And, my littlest Caterpillar has ANOTHER odd disease.  Seriously?  SERIOUSLY?  It’s called Whitlow, but what makes it rare/uncommon is that she did not get it from her mouth (fever blisters/cold sores).  The bad news is that we owe the hospital another co-pay, plus two new medications (which of course, were not those festive $4 Kroger ones).  The good news is that she’s allowed to keep sucking her thumb for now.  (She’s got 3 days for it to start healing on it’s own.)

I’m also winning the Mother of the Year Award for the following decision:

The pharmacist told me that one of the medicines GO is on is very bitter and I should purchase a bottle of apple or grape juice to help her get the taste out of her mouth after the took it.  So, instead of spending money on juice – I gave my daughter a spoonful of this after her medicine.

It's identical to Apple Juice, really. I promise.

You don’t have to tell me, I know I’m awesome.

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Malenki on 10 10 10 at 10:38 pm

    Not like you to give GO straight up sugar … but, yes. You are a wonderful mummy! Poor little one. Odd diseases just run in our family, don’t they. 😉 I am praying!! Love you all … your M

    Reply

Leave a Reply

