Taking Care of Stuff

So, three years ago, I purchased a lovely shade of Dark Spruce Green paint to repaint my shutters and front door.  It has sat in the garage for three years – waiting.  Just waiting.  For the weather to be perfect, for me to fix the cracks in the door, for who knows what.  It never happened.

Today, I decided I was going to ACCOMPLISH something.  FlyLady has been sending me the emails and I was finally ready to tackle a “big” job.  So I stopped by the Ace Hardware to purchase wood putty.  Took it home and fixed the cracks.  Then painted my door!  It looks incredible, if I do say so myself (feel free to comment and say so yourselves).

Dark Spruce Green vs Nasty Old Orange-Red

This is the finished door:

swept the steps, dusted the cobwebs

view of the Rubbermaid Tub & hiking stick

I actually like the black metal door – I would like to repaint it, but I’m not sure yet on what to use.  I’ll work on that.

pretty black metal outer door

Cookie helped by killing the wasps (about 25-30) that had made a next behind one of the shutters.  I’ll be removing two shutters and repainting the other six the same Dark Spruce Green.

It may take me a month, but I refuse to feel guilty, because in the end – by Christmas I’ll have brand new paint on my door and shutters!  And my house will look awesome from the street.

lovely Fall-ish doormat

another shot of the front door, with matching welcome mat

~Mummy Butterfly  )i(

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Niki on 19 10 10 at 5:38 am

    Looks great! I had the day off yesterday, and thought I’d spend it doing nothing, but then the need to accomplish something overtook me, too, so I spent the day vacuuming, mopping and doing laundry. Not as relaxing as nothing, but now I can at least feel better when the baby picks something up off the floor and sticks it in his mouth:-). Yay for your green door (and shutters)!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Malenki on 19 10 10 at 6:36 am

    LOVE it, Sis! Know that feeling of paint waiting … You should see the living room right now. I think the only thing that’s good about the half finished project is that Mom’s painting skills (stone texture, but no color) and my taping skills (whoopee …) are being exhibited. ;) Love you!! ~M

    Reply

  3. The site looks good, but don’t know if I’m up for a change over learning curve right no…too much on my plate as it is! I’ve got a 5 hr telethon to produce, some lighting designs and video editing not to mention the Halloween costumes!

    Reply

  4. Posted by chrysti on 20 10 10 at 4:18 pm

    I say so myself too!

    Keep up the awesome motivation!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 455 other followers

